Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
George claims ABL's Gold Glove
Aces infielder stars defensively
04/02/2018 7:58 PM ET

Ever since his debut in 2011, Darryl George has been a key piece in the Melbourne Aces setup.

Seven seasons and 225 games later, George has been named the ABL's Gold Glove winner for the 2017/18 season.

During those 225 games, George has spent at least 215 innings at each of the four infield positions, cementing himself as one of the most versatile infielders the league has had.

In the 2017/18 season, George was consistently outstanding for the Aces, as he cemented himself as one of the league's most formidable shortstops.

New York Yankees star Didi Gregorius was the inaugural winner of this award in 2010, while Heat legend Joey Wong (2014-2015) and Team Australia mainstay Allan de San Miguel (2012-2013, 2016-2017) have both won multiple ABL Gold Gloves.

George is thrilled to be join the company of some legendary ABL players like Gregorius, Wong and de San Miguel in winning the Gold Glove.

"When looking at some of the previous winners of the award, it's a huge honour," George said.

George credits his 2017 season with the Orix Buffaloes in Japan's NPB with improving his defensive output.

"The training regime in Japan with the Buffaloes was definitely key in improving my game defensively," George said.

"It was hard work, but definitely worth it."

Melbourne Aces Manager Jon Deeble saw George as the lynchpin of his team's defence.

"George was the cornerstone of our defence all season," Deeble said.

"He's as good as there is in the country defensively, he's a great teammate too and could still play professionally if he was given the chance."

ABL Gold Glove winners:

2010/11: Didi Gregorius (Canberra Cavalry)
2011/12: Allan de San Miguel (Perth Heat)
2012/13: Stefan Welch (Adelaide Bite), Allan de San Miguel (Perth Heat)
2013/14: Joey Wong (Perth Heat)
2014/15: Joey Wong (Perth Heat)
2015/16: Allan de San Miguel (Perth Heat)
2016/17: Allan de San Miguel (Melbourne Aces)
2017/18: Darryl George (Melbourne Aces)

Stay tuned as the ABL's 2017/18 Reliever of the Year will be announced on Wednesday 11 April.

All six of the ABL's 2017/18 Awards (Rookie of the Year, Gold Glove, Reliever of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Brett Brothers Batting Champion and Helms Award) were determined by a 3-2-1 vote conducted by each of the 2017/18 ABL Managers.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.